World's best violist to play in Sofia

Tabea Zimmermann

On 18 December, the best violist of our times Tabea Zimmermann will play the Concerto for viola and orchestra by William Walton under the baton of Alexander Zemtsov in the Bulgaria Hall in Sofia. The programme includes fragments of the first and second suites from Romeo and Juliette by Sergey Prokofiev as well as the most popular symphony by Tchaikovsky - Symphony No.4.

Tabea Zimmermann is а regular soloist of famous orchestras such as Berlin Philharmonic, Paris Orchestra, London Symphonic Orchestra, Israel and Czech Philharmonics. She was a resident artist in Weimar, Luxemburg, Hamburg, Bamberg Symphony Orchestra, Rezonans Ensemble, Museums-Gesellschaft - Frankfurt. She is a laureate of many prestigious awards: musical awards of Frankfurt and Rheingau, Hessian Cultural Prize, the Paul Hindemith Prize of the City of Hanau, the International Award of Chigiana Music Academy of Sienna, ECHO Classic, etc. She was selected as Artist of the Year in 2017 by ICMA (International Classical Music Awards). As of 2013 she chairs the board of directors of the Beethoven House in Bonne. Her repertoire is huge and includes the most brilliant viola compositions from all epochs.

In Sofia Tabea will play under the baton of Alexander Zemtsov. He is one of the most versatile musicians of his generation, widely acknowledged as soloist, conductor, chamber performer and pedagogue. Under his baton have played world known musicians such as Lars Anders Tomter, Misha Mayski, Simon Trapcheski, Denitsa Lafchieva, Albrecht Menzel, Gordan Nikolic and Roman Simovic. As of 2017 he has an exclusive contract for recordings as a conductor with Toccata Classics, London. He graduated from the Gnessin State Musical College in the class of Elena Ozol and continued his education in the class of Michael Kugel at Maastricht Higher School and the class of Tabea Zimmermann at Hanns Eisler Higher School in Berlin. Parallel with that, he studied conducting and attended master classes of Kiril Petrenko, Jukka Pekka Saraste, Vladimir Jurowski, Kurt Masur, Vassili Sinaiski and Leif Segerstam.

Similar articles