Three countries broke law by refusing refugees, EU top court rules

The European Court of Justice ruled on Thursday that Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic had broken the law by refusing to accept refugees during the 2015 migrant crisis, news wires reported.

The Eastern European states refused to accept a plan by EU interior ministers in September 2015 to redistribute asylum seekers from Italy and Greece within the bloc.By ignoring the decision, the court ruled that they "failed to fulfil their obligations under European Union law."

More than 1 million refugees and migrants crossed into Europe at the height of the crisis. Around 160,000 of them were meant to be distributed among other member states according to a quota system. However, because Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic did not abide by the ruling, only about 40,000 refugees were relocated.

The three countries took in almost none over the two years the scheme was in operation.They had argued that EU countries alone are responsible for ensuring public safety and not the European Commission, which drew up the quota scheme and began legal proceedings against them in December 2017. But in the court's view, law and order and internal security concerns weren't severe enough to refuse to accept the refugees.

Although the court didn't issue fines on Thursday, the Commission considers that the countries are still not meeting their obligations, and can bring the case to the Court again and apply for financial sanctions. The failure of EU states to share the burden of the migrant influx sparked of the EU's biggest political crises. The issue of immigration then became a major vote-winner for far-right parties.

Similar articles

  • Heatwave torments Western Europe

    Heatwave torments Western Europe

    More than a dozen Italian cities were put on alert as heatwave gripped Europe in the last days. While Spain experienced record temperatures, a fire destroyed a vast area of a forest in southwest France and people in Britain filled beaches to look for coolness and escape the country's hottest day of the year so far.

  • EU eyes cheap Covid-19 vaccines

    EU eyes cheap Covid-19 vaccines

    The Union is in talks with drugmakers for shots cheaper than $40

    The EU is not interested in buying potential COVID-19 vaccines through an initiative co-led by the World Health Organisation (WTO) as it is slow and high-cost, two EU sources told Reuters, noting the bloc was in talks with drugmakers for shots cheaper than $40. The position shows the EU has only partly embraced a global approach in the race for Covid-19 vaccines as it prefers prioritising supplies for the EU citizens.

  • Recovery fund payments to start in 2021

    Recovery fund payments to start in 2021

    Payments of the massive coronavirus stimulus approved by EU leaders will start in the second half of next year, Economy Commissioner Paolo Gentiloni was quoted as saying on Friday. In an interview with Italian newspaper La Repubblica he pointed out that countries could use a tenth in anticipation of the plan’s approval.