Ruling party in Tbilisi again wins majority

It occupies 90 out of the 150 seats in the new parliament

Giorgi Gakharia.

The majority system candidates for MPs from the ruling party “Georgian Dream - Democratic Georgia” won in all 17 constituencies in which a second round of parliamentary elections took place on Saturday.

With these results, now the ruling party occupies 90 seats in the 150-seat parliament, according to Irakly Kobakhidze, the party’s Executive Secretary.

The vote on Saturday was in 17 of the 30 single-seat constituencies, eight of which are in the capital, Tbilisi.

Giorgi Gakharia, Georgia’s PM, told the opposition that no matter how big is the difference between them, they have to learn to work together. “This is how a European state is built.”

The Georgian opposition said that they are not recognising the results of the first round on 31 October and boycotted the second. In the first round, the ruling party received 48.22% percent of the vote and won in 13 single-seat constituencies. In second place was The United Opposition Bloc, which includes former President Mikhail Saakashvili 's United National Movement party, ranked second in the elections, gaining 27.18%.

Georgia's parliamentary elections were held under a new, mixed electoral system: out of 150 MPs, 120 were elected by proportional system through party lists and 30 through majority system.

Similar articles

  • Israel, France to discuss Pegasus scandal

    Israel, France to discuss Pegasus scandal

    Israeli Defence Minister Benny Gantz will meet his French counterpart in Paris this week for talks that will include an "update" on the Pegasus spyware scandal, AFP reported on Tuesday, citing his office. A ministry statement said Gantz will leave Wednesday for talks with French Defence Minister Florence Parly on topics including the crisis in Lebanon, nuclear negotiations with Iran and the Pegasus malware made by Israeli firm NSO, which was allegedly used to target President Emmanuel Macron.

  • World leaders can attend annual General assembly session in person

    World leaders can attend annual General assembly session in person

    The United Nations has decided to let world leaders attend their annual gathering at the UN General Assembly in September in person or deliver pre-recorded speeches if Covid-19 restrictions prevent them from traveling, news wires reported. General Assembly President Volkan Bozkir, a strong supporter of in-person meetings, said in a note from his office to the 193 UN member nations circulated on Monday that significant efforts have been made to ensure that the UN is able to host an in-person high-level week from Sept. 21-30.