Norway lifts travel ban for many countries, a 10-day quarantine for others

Norway will lift travel restrictions to and from more than 20 European countries from 15 July, including France, Germany and Britain as well as three of the 21 provinces of neighbouring Sweden, the government of PM Erna Solberg announced on Friday.

Citizens and foreign residents of Denmark, Iceland and Finland have been allowed to enter Norway since 15 June, the first countries to be approved following Norway’s decision in mid-March to shut its borders to contain the coronavirus spread.

Spain, Greece and the Netherlands were among those added to the list of approved nations on Friday, which will be reviewed at least every 14 days based on data such as infection rates and hospital admissions in each country. Bulgaria, Croatia, Luxembourg, Portugal, Romania and Hungary will remain on the list of restricted EU countries, as will 18 Swedish regions.

Travel outside of Europe is also on hold, as well as for non-EU nations such as Russia, Turkey and Ukraine. Norway is not a member of the European Union but belongs to the passport-free Schengen Area travel zone.

Visitors from nations which have not received a green light are generally denied entry, while any Norwegians returning home from such countries face a 10-day quarantine. Norway, with a population of 5.4m, had reported a total of 8,954 COVID-19 cases, with 252 deaths until Thursday.

More on this subject: Coronavirus

Similar articles