New Covid-19 restrictions to be introduced

Photo: BTA

Starting 7 September, temporary measures tackling the epidemic will be introduced and are to remain in place until the end of October. The announcement came from Dr Alexander Zlatanov, Deputy Minister of Health, during a briefing on the subject.

In-person classes in educational centres and academies will be allowed under the following conditions: observing the appropriate social distance, requiring masks and having no more than 10 people in the same room.

Attendance of children's centres, daytime party clubs and the likes is being banned.

Congress events will have to follow the guidelines for social distancing and mask wearing.

Team-building and other similar events will not be allowed under the new restrictions.

Competitions, group tests and the likes will have to be held while using no more than 30% of the hosting venue's capacity and limiting attendance to 30 people.

Attendance of cinemas, theatres, concert halls and other venues hosting indoor stage events will be limited to 50% capacity and no standing will be allowed.

Museums and galleries will have to ensure a ratio of at least eight square metres per visitor when calculating attendance.

Attendance of centres, academies and the likes will be limited to 30% capacity and no more than 10 people at a time.

Indoor professional sports competitions will have to be held without fans in attendance. Outdoor professional sports events will be allowed to have crowds up to 30% of the maximum capacity of the given stadium, hall or other type of venue under the following conditions - no standing will be allowed, every third seat will be used, social distancing and masks will be mandatory.

Gyms will remain open at no more than 30% capacity.

Attending sports arenas and clubs, swimming pools and complexes, etc., will only be permitted for those practicing individual sports and at no more than 50% capacity.

Practicing team sports indoors will be temporarily banned.

The school year will open with in-person classes on 15 September, Minister of Healthcare Stoycho Katsarov, MD, announced.

Similar articles

  • Covid-19 colour codes updated

    Covid-19 colour codes updated

    The Netherlands, Tunisia and Kuwait will be excluded from the Covid-19 red zone to join the list of countries in the orange zone, effective Wednesday, 4 August, the Health Ministry reported.

  • Epidemic state of emergency extended

    Epidemic state of emergency extended

    The Council of Ministers has adopted a decision to extend the state of emergency declared in response to the pandemic, which was originally set to expire on 1 August and is now to continue at least until 31 August 2021, the press office of the interim government announced.