Members of 45th National Assembly sworn in as MPs

The newly-elected 45h National Assembly started its first session at 9.00am on Thursday morning in the Parliament's old building. The meeting was broadcast live on National TV and National Radio.

According to the Constitution, the new Parliament's first session was convened by order of President Rumen Radev and opened by the oldest attending Member of Parliament, who was Mika Zaykova from the party There Is Such a People.

The MPs were sworn in during the Parliament's first session. The National Anthem was played in the plenary hall, as well as the Anthem of Europe. President Radev and Vice President Iliana Iotova also attended the first session. Radev addressed the nation and Parliament.

Statements were expected from representatives of the political forces in the Parliament and from the new Parliament's Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson. The newly-elected Chairperson would then take over the sitting and deliver a speech.

The MPs were expected to vote by raising their hand, since the electronic voting system has been installed in the Parliament's new building.

Similar articles

  • Snap parliamentary elections to be held on 11 July

    Snap parliamentary elections to be held on 11 July

    Early parliamentary elections will likely be scheduled for 11 July. President Rumen Radev will dissolve the 45th National Assembly next week and appoint a caretaker government. This was stated by the head of state after he handed over the third, and last, mandate to form a cabinet to BSP, and they returned it immediately.

  • President gives mandate to TISP, they return it

    President gives mandate to TISP, they return it

    President Rumen Radev gave a second party, There is Such a People (TISP), mandate to form a cabinet. It was officially received by chess player Antoaneta Stefanova, who several days earlier was tabbed by TISP and its leader Stanislav Trifonov as the party's nominee for premier. Back then, Trifonov said that Stefanova would receive the mandate only to immediately return it because TISP did not intend to try to form a cabinet. The reason - the party lacked sufficient support in the new National Assembly.