Ireland eases travel restrictions with 15 European countries

Dublin Airport would be bustling with travellers at this time of year.

The Irish government on Tuesday announced it would drop a 14-day quarantine requirement for travellers arriving from a “green list” of 15 European countries.

Ireland, which has one of the lower rates of infection in the European Union with around 5 cases per 100,000 people in the past 14 days, said it had decided to drop the restriction for people coming from countries with a similar or lower rate of infection.

 Arrivals into Ireland from Malta, Finland, Norway, Italy, Hungary, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Cyprus, Slovakia, Greece, Greenland, Gibraltar, Monaco, and San Marino will not have to restrict their movements.

Passengers from other countries, including the United States and neighbouring Britain, are asked to restrict their movements for 14 days. 

The list will be reviewed on a fortnightly basis, based on advice from officials including public health experts. 

More on this subject: Coronavirus

Similar articles