Hungary will not open for non-EU countries

Hungary will not comply with the EC-proposed safe travel list and will not let citizens of non-EU countries to enter Hungarian territory, except for Serbia, PM Viktor Orban said. "For the time being we cannot support the EU's request, because this would go against the healthcare interests of the Hungarian people," he said on Thursday in a video posted on his Facebook page.

The EU gave majority approval on Tuesday to leisure or business travel from 15 countries beyond its borders in a move aimed at supporting the EU travel industry and tourist destinations. The countries are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and conditionally China.

For people passing through Hungary on way to other countries, a "humanitarian corridor" will be re-instated that was in place at the peak of the first wave of the pandemic in Europe, Orban said. "Anyone travelling through Hungary will have to use this (corridor). They will not be allowed to leave this path and we will keep strict border controls in place," he pointed out.

Italy has also said it would opt out and keep quarantine restrictions in place for all nations that were not part of the free-travel Schengen area.

Similar articles