European Chief Prosecutor, EU Prosecutors take oath at ECJ

Currently there are 22 Member States participating in the enhanced cooperation on EPPO

Photo: EP Laura Codruţa Kövesi.

On Monday, European Chief Prosecutor Laura Codruţa Kövesi and 22 EU Prosecutors of the new European Public Prosecutor's Office (EPPO) have taken their oath in a ceremony at the European Court of Justice. This marked solemnly the commencement of the activities of this Luxembourg-based EU body.

“I solemnly undertake to be completely independent in carrying out my responsibilities, in the interest of the Union as a whole, and neither to seek nor take instructions from any person or entity external to the European Public Prosecutor’s Office. I further undertake to comply with the duty of confidentiality, as regards all information held by the European Public Prosecutor’s Office” – the oath reads.

Věra Jourová, Vice-President for Transparency and Values, together with Commissioners Johannes Hahn, in charge of budget and administration and Didier Reynders, responsible for the portfolio of justice and consumers, made a joint statement underlying that the mission of the EU Prosecutors is clear: to fight financial crime and protect the EU taxpayer's money.

“Criminals know no borders. It is time prosecutors do not either. The European Public Prosecutor's Office will be a game changer in fighting cross-border financial crimes.”

The three EC senior officials also emphasised that the EU Prosecutors have a crucial job to do: they need to bring justice into an area where impunity is frequent and losses are significant for both the EU and national budgets. “For this, they must be independent, determined and thorough in their investigations.”

The new European Public Prosecutor's Office will be the first supranational public prosecution office, operating across all EU countries participating in the enhanced cooperation. It will investigate, prosecute and bring to judgment fraud and other crimes affecting the EU's financial interests, such as corruption and cross-border VAT crimes above €10m. 

Currently there are 22  Member  States  participating  in  that enhanced  cooperation - Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy,  Latvia,   Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the   Netherlands, Portugal, Romania,   Slovenia, Slovakia and Spain.


Similar articles