EU Solidarity Fund: €823m in aid approved for 8 Member States

Overall, 19 EU countries have requested assistance in tackling the consequences of pandemic

A 5.3-magnitude earthquake rocked Croatia's capital Zagreb in March.

On Monday, Budgets Committee Members approved €823m in EU aid from the European Union Solidarity Fund (EUSF) to be distributed to 8 Member States, EP press service reported. More than €132.7m to be made in advance payments to Germany, Ireland, Greece, Spain, Croatia, Hungary, and Portugal in response to the major public health emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic in early 2020.


Croatia will receive €683.7m to help the country deal with the devastating effects of the earthquake in Zagreb and the surrounding area in March 2020. A first disbursement of €88.9m was already released in August 2020. More than €7m will go to Poland to assist with reconstruction efforts following floods in the Podkarpackie Voivodeship province in June this year.

As part of the Coronavirus Response Investment Initiative (CRII), in 2020 the scope of the EU Solidarity Fund rules was extended, enabling the EU to help countries respond to major public health emergencies. Overall, 19 EU countries (Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czechia, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, and Spain) and three accession countries (Albania, Montenegro, and Serbia) have requested assistance in tackling the consequences of the COVID-19 crisis. Of these, seven countries requested the payment to be made in advance, which Budget Committee MEPs approved following a vote.

Similar articles