EU extends sanctions over Russia's Crimea annexation for another 6 months

The European Union prolonged its travel bans and asset freezes over Russia’s 2014 annexation of Crimea for another six months, until March next year, the European Council announced on Thursday.

“Today the Council decided to extend the sanctions targeting persons and entities that continue to undermine or threaten the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine, for a further 6 months until 15 March 2021,” the statement said. The existing restrictive measures provide for both travel restrictions and the freezing of assets, and will continue to apply to 175 persons and 44 entities.

Restrictive measures in respect of actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine were first introduced on 17 March 2014. Other EU measures in place in response to the crisis in Ukraine include economic sanctions targeting specific sectors of the Russian economy, currently in place until 31 January 2021, and restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol, limited to the territory of Crimea and Sevastopol and currently in place until 23 June 2021.

The list of sanctioned persons and entities are kept under constant review and subject to periodic renewals by the Council.

Similar articles