EP appoints its quota at Conference on the Future of Europe Executive Board

Photo: EP Guy Verhofstadt.

EU Parliament’s Conference of Presidents endorsed the members and observers nominated by the political groups to be on the Conference’s Executive Board.

The Executive Board will oversee the work of the Conference, and prepare the Conference Plenary meetings, including following up on citizens’ input.

Belgian MEP Guy Verhofstadt form Renew Europe Group will be a co-chair of the Executive Board. There will be also two members of the board - Manfred Weber from Germany, president of EPP Group and Iratxe García Pérez, leader of S&D.

The observers will be Gerolf Annemans (ID, BE), Daniel Freund (Greens/EFA, DE), Zdzisław Marek Krasnodębski (ECR, PL) and Helmut Scholz (The Left, DE).

Parliament’s leaders want the Conference on the Future of Europe to start its work as soon as possible in order to “contribute significantly to building a Citizen's Union”.

The Conference is under the authority of the three institutions leading this initiative, represented by their presidents, acting as its Joint Presidency. The Executive Board, equally representing the three institutions will soon be constituted, with national Parliaments having observer status.

On 10 March, the presidents of the EP, the Commission and the Portugal’s Presidency of the Council signed the Joint Declaration on the Conference on the Future of Europe. It paved the way to launching a series of debates and discussions that will enable people from across the EU to have their say on what kind of Europe they want to live in.

Similar articles