Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia agree to reopen their shared borders

The Czech Republic, Hungary and Slovakia are set to start reopening their borders for their citizens to travel. The measure will become effective on Wednesday.

The Czech Republic and Slovakia announced on Monday a deal for their citizens to travel across their common border and not to face a mandatory quarantine and tests for the coronavirus, but only if they return in 48 hours.

Czech Prime Minister Andrej Babis said Tuesday Hungary is joining the Czechs and Slovaks to allow free travel among them for that limited period of two days.

The Czech Republic with another neighbour, Austria, previously said they are planning to reopen their common border for travelers in the middle of June. 

More on this subject: Coronavirus

Similar articles