Bulgaria to require negative PCR test upon entering the country

Staring 29 January (Friday) until 30 April, Bulgaria is introducing a requirement for every incoming traveller to present a document attesting to the fact that they have had a negative PCR test for the novel coronavirus within the last 72 hours of their arrival to the country.

Bulgarian citizens and individuals with permanent, long-term or extended residence status and their family members who fail to provide such a document will be asked to quarantine for 10 days.

Bus drivers servicing international routes, truck drivers in the process of performing or concluding international transport services, vessel and aircraft crews, border staff and transit travellers may be exempt from the negative PCR test requirement.  

Starting 1 February until 30 April, citizens will be required to wear a protective facemask on the premises of indoor public spaces, including public transportation. The same requirement will apply for outdoor public spaces whenever gatherings of people in close proximity cannot be avoided. This effectively removes the option for citizens to wear face shields or other equipment covering the nose and the mouth other than facemasks.

Similar articles