Bulgaria approves six European Delegated Prosecutors

Photo: BGNES

Meeting on Friday, the 11-member Prosecutors Chamber of the Supreme Judicial Council approved six European Delegated Prosecutors (EDPs) from Bulgaria after two days of hearings of all applicants for the position. A total of 23 Bulgarian magistrates (6 judges, 15 prosecutors and 2 investigating magistrates) applied for the position.

This is the second election held in Bulgaria, because not all applicants in the first election were approved during the final stage.

The most votes today received Elena Popova from the Bulgarian Specialised Criminal Court, the prosecutors from the Prosecutor's Office Viktor Tarchev, Stanislav Stoykov and Anna Aleksova, as well as the deputy heads of the District Prosecutor's Offices of Pernik - Anita Jamalova, and Kyustendil - Ivaylo Iliev.

Similar articles

  • President appoints new caretaker government

    President appoints new caretaker government

    This morning, President of Bulgaria Rumen Radev dissolved the acting caretaker government and presented the new one, which had to be formed after the 46th National Assembly failed to form a regular cabinet. There are three new faces in this latest caretaker government, led as its predecessor by Prime Minister Stefan Yanev. Daniela Vezieva is set to take the reins of the economy, Valeri Belchev is to steer finance, while Hristo Alexiev heads the Ministry of Transport.