Frontex to deploy units on Serbia's borders

The EU and Serbia initialled on 20 September a status agreement that will allow European Border and Coast Guard teams to be deployed in the Balkan country, the European Commission press service reported. According to the agreement, signed in Belgrade by Commissioner for Migration, Home Affairs and Citizenship Dimitris Avramopoulos and Nebojsa Stefanovic, Deputy PM and Minister of Interior of the Republic of Serbia, Frontex will be able to assist the country in border management and carry out joint operations, in particular in the event of a sudden change in migratory flows.

“Step by step, we are better protecting the EU's external borders, and we are doing so also by cooperating more closely with partner countries in our direct neighbourhood and beyond”, Avramopoulos said. He hopes that the EU could swiftly conclude the ongoing negotiations with other Western Balkan partners. The status agreement with Serbia is the third agreement initialled with partner countries from the Western Balkan region, following Albania in February and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia in July. Negotiations with Montenegro and with Bosnia and Herzegovina are ongoing. The draft status agreement initialled with Serbia will be formally signed after both sides complete the necessary legal procedures. The EP's consent is also required.

A week ago, following President Juncker's State of the Union Address 2018, the Commission proposed to further reinforce the European Border and Coast Guard, allowing the joint operations and deployments to take place in countries beyond the EU's immediate neighbourhood.


Similar articles

  • EU-North Macedonia talks urged

    EU-North Macedonia talks urged

    Italy pushes opening accession negotiations despite some Member States' opposition

    In attempt to further bring North Macedonia and Albania to the EU, majority of EU governments led by Italy urged last Tuesday deliver on a promise to open membership talks with both countries, news wires reported. Meeting in Luxembourg almost a year to the day since they unexpectedly postponed a decision to open talks with the two countries, Europe ministers tried to change their position.

  • Greece may seek sanctions against Turkey in gas row

    Greece may seek sanctions against Turkey in gas row

    Greece and Cyprus will push their EU partners to penalise Turkey, including the possible option of sanctions, if Ankara is verified to have started drilling for gas west of Cyprus, Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras said on Sunday. The discovery of lucrative energy reserves in the eastern Mediterranean has drawn into sharper focus long-standing tensions between Turkey and the Greek Cypriot government.

  • Juncker insists EU-Swiss treaty to be signed next week

    Juncker insists EU-Swiss treaty to be signed next week

    European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker pledged on Tuesday to clear up Switzerland's concerns about a draft treaty to govern ties so that Bern can endorse it by 18 June and allow the Swiss stock exchange to maintain access to the bloc's markets, news wires reported. In a letter to the Swiss president, Juncker said he was ready to clarify any doubts but that the November 2018 draft treaty "will not be renegotiated."