EuroLat parliamentarians to meet in Vienna

Photo: EP Ramón Jáuregui

Digital agenda, globalisation and development aid are among the main topics on the agenda of the Eleventh Euro-Latin American Parliamentary Assembly (EuroLat) plenary sitting that will take place in Vienna from 17 to 20 September. It will gather 75 MEPs and 75 representatives of the Latin-American and Caribbean parliaments. The President of the European component of EuroLat, Spanish S&D MEP Ramón Jáuregui, will co-head the plenary together with Elias Castillo from Panama.

On behalf of the Austrian Presidency of the Council, in the sessions will took part Karin Kneissl, Federal Minister for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs and Karoline Edtstadler, State Secretary of the Ministry of the Interior.

According to the programme, the parliamentarians from both sides have to adopt resolutions on the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, air safety and security, combatting impunity, governing globalisation, development aid to middle-income countries, forced disappearance of minors and the fight against inequality.

The Working Group on Security, Organised and Transnational Crime and Terrorism will discuss recommendations on the fight against terrorism, including the prevention of online radicalisation and the fight against transnational organised crime.

Other topics on the Assembly agenda include the humanitarian crisis due to massive migration from Venezuela and the situation in Brazil ahead of the Presidential elections. EuroLat members will discuss with civil society representatives the state of play of LGBTI rights in the EU and Latin America. The EuroLat Women’s Forum will also meet in the margins of the assembly.

Similar articles

  • Starting in 2021, Americans will need to register to travel to EU

    Starting in 2021, Americans will need to register to travel to EU

    The European Union announced on Friday that American travelers will need registration through  the European Travel Information and Authorization System or ETIAS to visit the European Schengen Area. The Schengen Area is a zone of 26 European countries that do not have internal borders and allow people to move between them freely, including countries like Spain, France, Greece, Germany, Italy and Poland. Currently, US citizens can travel to Europe for up to 90 days without a visa.

  • EU court rejects Hamas challenge over terrorist listing

    EU court rejects Hamas challenge over terrorist listing

    The EU's General Court on Wednesday rejected a challenge by Hamas against its 2015 listing as a terrorist organization, a decision that made the Palestinian Islamist group liable to EU sanctions, news wires reported. The EU first included Hamas on its terrorist list in late 2001, which resulted in the freezing of assets owned in the bloc. The movement, which seized control of the Gaza Strip in 2007, has repeatedly contested the EU's listing decisions.