EC Presidency candidates ready for debate

Candidates to become the next head of the European Commission will take the stage on 15 May evening in the EP’s plenary chamber in Brussels. The “Debate of the candidates to the presidency of the Commission – EU Elections 2019" will be approximately hour and a half long and will be followed by press statements by the candidates. This debate will be the only one to bring together all the lead candidates vying to be the next president of the European Commission.

They will present themselves to the public as determined by the draw - Nico Cue, European Left (EL), Ska KELLER, European Green Party (EGP), Jan ZAHRADIL, Alliance of Conservatives and Reformists in Europe (ACRE), Margrethe VESTAGER, Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE), Manfred WEBER, European People’s Party (EPP) and Frans TIMMERMANS, Party of European Socialists (PES). 

Eurovision has editorial responsibility for the debate which will focus on the topics such as employment, migration, security, populism, climate change and the global role of the EU. It will be presented by three journalists chosen by Eurovision: Emilie Tran Nguyen, France Télévisions, and Markus Preiss, ARD Germany, will lead the debate on stage, while Annastiina Heikkilä, YLE Finland, will feed into the discussion from the social media angle.

For the debate the EP hemicycle will be transformed into a TV studio and the debate will be broadcast live on EBU (Eurovision) and via EbS (Europe by Satellite). The debate will be distributed in 23 languages and offered free of charge to broadcasters and online distribution platforms. It also will be webstreamed on EP live and on EbS.

Similar articles